Carlton Ernest "Pudge" Fisk (born December 26, 1947) is a former Major League Baseball catcher who played for 24 years with both the Boston Red Sox (1969, 1971-1980) and Chicago White Sox (1981-1993). Known by the nickname "Pudge" due to his 6'2", 220 lb frame, he was the first player to be unanimously voted American League Rookie of the Year (1972). He is best known for "waving fair" his game-winning home run in the 12th inning of Game 6 of the 1975 World Series, one of the greatest moments in World Series history. At the time of his retirement in 1993 he held the records for most home runs all-time by a catcher with 351 (since passed by Mike Piazza). A testament to his durability behind the plate, Fisk held the record for most games played at the position of catcher (2,226) until June 17, 2009 when he was surpassed by "Pudge" Iván Rodríguez. Fisk still holds the American League record for most years served behind the plate (24). Fisk was voted to the All-Star team 11 times and won 3 Silver Slugger Awards which is awarded annually to the best offensive player at each position. Fisk was known as a fierce competitor, a superb handler of pitchers and a natural on-field leader. He was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2000.

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Season 17 Win Shares

American League

MVP: Alan Ramirez. This guy is the real thing. Seattle has kept him in CF where he earned 4.9 WS, but it was his 56 HR, 144 RBI, and 1.025 OPS that led him to a total of 28.8 WS. He's only 25. Carter Fassero, Les Sandberg, Terry York, and pitcher Felipe Medrano round out the top five.

Cy Young: Felipe Medrano. Kansas City's ace wins his second straight Cy Young according to Win Shares while registering his personal high of 24.3 WS. The rest of the top five include Tommy Wilkinson, Juan Suarez, Brad Chouinard, and Gary Bennett.

Rookie of the Year: Paul Wanatabe.

Gold Gloves: Les Flynn (C), Mario Kydd (1B), Carter Fassero (2B), Vasco Guerrero (3B), Lawrence Lobstein (SS), Miguel Chavez (LF), Brace King (CF), and Jose Zorilla (RF).

Silver Sluggers: Pascual Franco (C), Alex Yoshii (1B), Placido James (2B), Terry York (3B), Louie Kim (SS), Wascar Neruda (LF), Alan Ramirez (CF), Darrel Lane (RF), and Lou Flynn (DH).

National League

MVP: Walter Roberts. Roberts had another great season for his second WS MVP. His 29.5 WS beat out Jerrod Ogea's 28.6 (in his bid for a fifth WS MVP) driven by a solid .954 OPS and over 1300 innings behind the plate. After Ogea, the rest of the top five include Eswalin Belliard, rookie Carlton Hinske, and veteran pitcher Stephen Harrison.

Cy Young: Stephen Harrison. This is Harrison's sixth Cy Young (and fourth in a row) according to Win Shares. Rookie Andrea Walker, Jack Jones, Walt Hubbell, and Pasqual Eusebio all followed Harrison in the top 5.

Rookie of the Year: Carlton Hinske.

Gold Gloves: Moises Castillo (C), Sting Thornton (1B), Matt Duchscherer (2B), Greg Brandt (3B), Daniel Pillette (SS), Fausto Gomez (LF), Carlton Hinske (CF), and Will White (RF).

Silver Sluggers: Walter Roberts (C), Eswalin Belliard (1B), Geraldo Cabrera (2B), Junior Witt (3B), Tim Reese (SS), Alfonso Morales (LF), Carlton Hinske (CF), Jerrod Ogea (RF), and Felix Huang (P).

No comments:

Custom Search