Carlton Ernest "Pudge" Fisk (born December 26, 1947) is a former Major League Baseball catcher who played for 24 years with both the Boston Red Sox (1969, 1971-1980) and Chicago White Sox (1981-1993). Known by the nickname "Pudge" due to his 6'2", 220 lb frame, he was the first player to be unanimously voted American League Rookie of the Year (1972). He is best known for "waving fair" his game-winning home run in the 12th inning of Game 6 of the 1975 World Series, one of the greatest moments in World Series history. At the time of his retirement in 1993 he held the records for most home runs all-time by a catcher with 351 (since passed by Mike Piazza). A testament to his durability behind the plate, Fisk held the record for most games played at the position of catcher (2,226) until June 17, 2009 when he was surpassed by "Pudge" Iván Rodríguez. Fisk still holds the American League record for most years served behind the plate (24). Fisk was voted to the All-Star team 11 times and won 3 Silver Slugger Awards which is awarded annually to the best offensive player at each position. Fisk was known as a fierce competitor, a superb handler of pitchers and a natural on-field leader. He was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2000.

Thursday, December 9, 2010

Season 16 Win Shares

American League

MVP: Carter Fassero. His continued stellar play at 2B propels him to another Win Shares MVP with a total of 26.6 WS. Alex Snopek finished 6th with 23.9 behind Neifi Almonte, Neifi Franco, Stu LaRocca, and Christian Martin.

Cy Young: Felipe Medrano. Kansas City is more of a hitter's park than Seattle which catapulted Medrano to 20.2 WS. Bartolo Seanez finished 4th with 19.5 behind Angel Rosado and Paul Kojima.

Rookie of the Year: Dario Lo.

Gold Gloves: Paul Lush (C), Neifi Almonte (1B), Carter Fassero (2B), Terry York (3B), Alfonso Nunez (SS), Stu LaRocca (LF), Vasco Guerrero (CF), and Alex Snopek (RF).

Silver Sluggers: Andrew Thome (C), Neifi Almonte (1B), Carter Fassero (2B), Neifi Franco (3B), Lawrence Lobstein (SS), Christian Martin (LF), Alan Ramirez (CF), Alex Snopek (RF), and George Wakeland (DH).

National League

MVP: Jerrod Ogea. Ogea was dominant with 31.8 WS. Phil Graves, Geraldo Cabrera, Eswalin Belliard, and Michael Kojima round out the top 5.

Cy Young: Stephen Harrison. Karl Gordon was awesome out of the bullpen (good for 12th in WS), but this system places more emphasis on IP. Carlos Espinosa, J.P. Rowand, Enrique Cortes, and Louie Maranon all followed Harrison in the top 5.

Rookie of the Year: Alex Sinclair.

Gold Gloves: David Butler (C), Livan Ortiz (1B), Geraldo Cabrera (2B), Denny Wagner (3B), Delino Veras (SS), Marvin O'Leary (LF), Tim Reese (CF), and John Martin (RF).

Silver Sluggers: Malachi Mitchell (C), Sting Thornton (1B), Geraldo Cabrera (2B), Junior Witt (3B), Jesus Serra (SS), Phil Graves (LF), Benito Cruz (CF), Jerrod Ogea (RF), and Louie Maranon (P).
Custom Search